The Heat is Power Association (HiP) Executive Director and Executive Committee

Heat is Power


Petra smeltzer
HiP Executive Director

Petra Smeltzer

Petra Smeltzer has been serving as the Executive Director of the Heat is Power Association as of July 1, 2021. Petra has three decades of state and federal level government affairs experience spearheading strategic and practical results for key government and energy trade organizations, including Governor Bob Taft (OH), the American Petroleum Institute, the National Electrical Manufacturing Association, the Electric Power Supply Association and the National Association of Water Companies. Her skills include building industry coalitions, negotiating and brokering agreements between government and industry and raising the profile of trade associations through collaboration.

Heat is Power


John Prunkl

John Prunkl

(Chairman) Ironclad Partners

John Prunkl is Ironclad Energy’s CEO, co-founder and has 30+ years of global operating experience in natural gas fired CHP, district energy, wind energy, waste heat, waste water, chilling, standalone power plants and byproduct fuel fired generation facilities. .

Kevin Kirkeby

Kevin Kirkeby

(Vice-Chair) ElectraTherm

Kevin is the Vice-Chair of the Heat is Power Association. Kevin has over ten years of extensive travel and in-depth work experience throughout rural Nevada on economic development, natural resources & renewable energy, community assistance, quality of life, sustainability, and …


Janice Tran

(Secretary) Kanin Energy

Janice serves as the Secretary for the Heat is Power Association. Janice also provides the leadership and financing strategy as the Chief Executive Officer for Kanin Energy, a clean energy development company. Prior to Kanin,…

Mo klefeker

Mo Klefeker

(Treasurer) Primary Energy

President and Chief Executive Officer Mr. Klefeker has been the President and CEO of Primary Energy since November 2015. His prior work experience of 20 years includes executive management responsibilities

Lynn Abrahamson

Lynn Abramson

(Federal Affairs Director) HiP

Lynn Abramson is President of the Clean Energy Business Network – the small business voice for the clean energy economy. CEBN enhances opportunities for clean energy providers through policy support, business development, and market..

Ilaria Peretti

Ilaria Peretti

Senior Consultant North America

Ilaria Peretti serve as a North American resident for Turboden since 2011, managing the sales and identifying new business leads in USA and Canada for Turboden technology and Turboden products. Earlier, she supported the integration between…